Oregon is an alcoholic beverage control state. In Oregon home brewing of bier and wyne is permissible but moonshine distilling is still a crime. Moonshine sale and purchase is only sanctioned through the forum. Wheat, grapes and cranberries are the core ingredients for moonshine in Oregon and are also the most produced crops in the state. The Oregon liquor control commission (OLCC) offers a wide range of products; over 40 different kinds of moonshine. Sweet-baby and stein-shine moonshine are two of those Oregon state products which are popular both in and outside the state.
- Is owning a still legal?
Owning a still is legal in Oregon even though distilling at home is restricted according to the federal law. The Oregon State law 471.037 states that the making of homemade bier, wyne and fermented fruit juices is legal. You can produce two hundred gallons per year if there are two people of 21 years residing at your household. Likewise, you can produce one hundred gallons of wyne, bier or fermented fruit juices if there is one person of the age of 21 years residing at your household.
According to the Oregon Statute ORS 471.405, there is a prohibition on the sale of alcoholic beverages without a license or authority. So, for selling home brewed alcoholic beverages or fruit juices, you need to obtain a permit.
- Is it possible to get a “student permit” to distill alcohol as part of a school science assignment?
In case students need to carry out a school science assignment for alcohol distillation, their teachers should notify the Oregon state authorities and report the duration and procedure of the assignment. Alcohol distillation as a school project cannot be carried out without the consent of the students’ parents. The school teachers and authorities should assure the state officials about the parents’ consent in order to get a permit.
- What kind of permit do I need to distill ethanol in Oregon?
It is legal to distill ethanol for the production and use of fuel at personal level. However, Oregon is an alcohol beverage control state when it comes to the production of distilled spirits and spirituous liquors.
To apply for a permit allowing you to produce and sell spirits and spirituous liquors through ethanol distillation, you can follow this link and get all the relevant information:
- Is it legal to distill essential oils and water?
According to the Oregon Statute 471.035, it is legal to distill essential oils and water for the production of dressing fluid, perfumes, tincture, toilet soaps, detergents and lotions. However, if you intent to sell your products, you need to inform the state authorities and pay the relevant taxes.
Finally, we are not lawyers, this info is for your entertainment only, so be sure to consult a crafty moonshine laws lawyer before spending any monies on your own distillation plant!
“Remember, the distillation of ethyl-alcohols is illegal without a permit per federal moonshine laws and is inherently dangerous because of ethanol’s flammability (never operate a homemade still indoors). For more moonshine laws and other moonshine still permit information, visit: http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/faq.shtml.”
http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/index.shtml – Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, Distilled Spirits
http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/Pages/index.aspx – Oregon Liquor Control Commission
http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/pages/laws_and_rules.aspx#Recent_Rule_Changes – Rules for alcohol production and sale in Oregon