Today, the people of Ohio can brew their own wyne and bier which they could not before November 2001. Unlike many states in the United States of America, it is legal that a person of 18 years of age can consume, serve and sell self manufactured alcoholic beverages, that allows many youngsters come into the moonshine business and create their own flavors of wyne, bier and hard cider. Moreover, the state allows its citizens to vote against any liquor they think is not up to standard.
- Is owning a still legal?
It is legal to own a still in Ohio. You can brew your own bier, wyne and hard cider for personal and family use provided they do not contain high alcohol content. However, you cannot sell the alcoholic beverages on or off premises without a permit from the Ohio Division of Liquor Control. If the state authorities find certain toxins or poisonous elements in your alcohol, you will be charged for misdemeanor.
- Is it possible to get a “student permit” to distill alcohol as part of a school science assignment?
As there are no student permits in the Ohio liquor laws, the school authorities can apply for a permit which allows them to distill alcohol for school science projects. You can distill alcohol at the place which the state authorities think is safe for the assignment and bring to any event for sharing it with common people. However, it is permitted to sell the alcohol. You can find the permit application for educational purposes here:
- What kind of permit do I need to distill ethanol in Ohio?
You can get a 4303.041 A-3a permit for a micro-distillery by the Ohio Department of Commerce: Division of Liquor Control for distilling ethanol for producing spirits or spirituous liquor. This micro-distillery permit is worth $2 to $400 depending on the size of the apparatus you use. However, you are not allowed to produce more than ten thousand gallons per year of the spirituous liquor. This liquor can be used for personal as well as family consumption. You cannot sell the liquor on premises. Moreover, you need to inform the authorities if you intend to sell your products so that they charge you with taxes and allow you to sell them at the places they suggest.
You can find the permit application here:
- Is it legal to distill essential oils and water?
According to Chapter 4301 Section 20 of the Ohio Codes by the liquor control board, it is legal to distill essential oils and water at your personal still without a permit. You can distill ethanol to produce products that are not for human intake. You are exempt from the state law if you produce and sale goods that are for external use only.
Finally, we are not lawyers, this info is for your entertainment only, so be sure to consult a crafty moonshine laws lawyer before spending any monies on your own distillation plant!
“Remember, the distillation of ethyl-alcohols is illegal without a permit per federal moonshine laws and is inherently dangerous because of ethanol’s flammability (never operate a homemade still indoors). For more moonshine laws and other moonshine still permit information, visit: http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/faq.shtml.”
http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/index.shtml – Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, Distilled Spirits
http://com.ohio.gov/ – Ohio Department of Commerce