Connecticut Moonshine Laws

Manufactured with honey, cereal, fresh ingredients, and water from purest of the New England springs, Moonshine produced in the state of Connecticut is gaining fame throughout the region of New-England, USA, ever since it was legalized by the state. The owners of the production firms have claimed, and proved themselves that the extremely luscious “White Lightning” produced by their distilleries contains none of the astringency, and harshness of the moonshine that was manufactured and sold pre-prohibition era.

The strength of their spirit has been tested out, and has been declared completely safe and not “brain-busting”—like it used to be. It includes no such artificial ingredients to enhance or solidify the aroma/flavor. Everything from the seal to the bottle represents the “Nut-meg” State of Connecticut as symbol of state pride. After receiving excellent reviews by the critics and bar-owners, these Connecticut based wineries have now been selling their products in other states as well. Having recently maximized its sales, they have proved and verified the admiration of such beverages among the natives and tourists alike.

  1. Is owning a still legal?

It is legal to own a still but only for decoration purposes or for distilling water, oils, and wine. It does not have to be registered and no permits are necessary. The Connecticut General Statute section 30-62b allows anyone than an underage person to brew their own wine for personal and family use. You can even share your moonshine at public events only if you do not intent to sell it.

Moreover, according to Connecticut General Statute section 30-77, if there are two or more people of 21 years of age, residing at a single dwellings, wyne and bier can be brewed as moonshine up to 100 gallons or less per year without a license. If there is one person of 21 years in the household, you can brew 50 gallons or less per year without a permit.

  1. Is it possible to get a “student permit” to distil alcohol as part of a school science assignment?

A permit for carrying out a science school assignment can be asked for by the school teachers or authorities or both by the Connecticut state officials. If the officials approve to the procedure of the assignment and the apparatus used for it, they may allow the school officials to let students carry out alcohol distillation. They state officials may also come to supervise the entire assignment process.

The school officials can moreover file for a special outing facility permit CT General Statute section 30-33c so that they may sell the distilled alcohol students have produced.

  1. What kind of permit do I need to distil ethanol in Connecticut?

A free permit can be obtained from the ATF to have a still and to make or distill ethanol. However, drinking it would turn it into moonshine. Moonshine, therefore, by definition, is illegally made hard liquor while the same product, made legally and permitted, is distilled spirits. Unless you pay the federal excise tax, you cannot distill alcoholic beverages.

For distilling ethanol, a ‘distilled spirits permit’ or a ‘federal fuel alcohol permit’ is required. While the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau do not track stills of 1 gallon or less, it is legal to own larger stills that are not being used to distil ethanol – or are being used to distil fuel ethanol under a license issued by the state for the owner. A Federal Distilled Spirits Permit to distil ethanol is very expensive and difficult to obtain and is used by very large industries. A Federal Fuel Ethanol Permit is free; the assumption is that the ethanol produced will be used in lawnmowers and other motorized equipment.

  1. Is it legal to distil essential oils and water?

Connecticut Moonshine Still ConstructionTitle 27 – Chapter1 – Subchapter A – Part1- Subpart C: S1.21 states that no person shall produce alcoholic beverages or sell them without a basic permit issued under the Act. So to distil essential oils and water in order to produce alcoholic beverages is illegal. However, producing essential oils and distilling water for personal or family use through is permitted without the requirement of the relevant license.

Finally, we are not lawyers, this info is for your entertainment only, so be sure to consult a crafty moonshine laws lawyer before spending any monies on your own distillation plant!

Links:“Remember, the distillation of ethyl-alcohols is illegal without a permit per federal moonshine laws and is inherently dangerous because of ethanol’s flammability (never operate a homemade still indoors). For more moonshine laws and other moonshine still permit information, visit: http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/faq.shtml.”

http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/index.shtml – Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, Distilled Spirits

moonshinelawsdirectory.com

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_545.htm#sec_30-62b – Chapter 545 Liquor Control act, Connecticut

http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=4332&q=273660 – Department of Consumer Protection, Liquor Control Division, State of Connecticut