Minnesota, the 32nd state of the United States of America, is known as the “Land of 10,000 Lakes” for the large number of lakes. It is the 12th largest and 21st most populous state of America. Agriculture and forestry are two important factors that affect the economy of the state. The state government applies excise tax on the production and sale of alcoholic beverages. However, moonshine laws in the state are a little strict.
1. Is owning a still legal?
According to the 2013 Minnesota Statute Section 340A.705, it is not legal to own a still even if it is not being used for producing alcoholic beverages. The state law does not allow an individual to own a still and operate it without informing the authorities. If you want to brew alcoholic beverages for personal or family use, you need to obtain a permit from the state authorities.
2. Is it possible to get a “student permit” to distill alcohol as part of a school science assignment?
Student permits are not allowed in the state. However, under the federal laws of the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, the teachers conducting the assignment can file for a permit for a school science project. They are to apply for a special permit and show the area or location where they want to carry out the project for the students. The state officials can also recommend a location for this purpose. After this, the apparatus being used for the assignment has to be approved. During the experiment, the officials have the right to monitor the procedure and steps taken.
3. What kind of permit do I need to distill ethanol in Massachusetts?
Distilling ethanol for the production of alcohol is illegal in the state of Minnesota. Distilling ethanol in order to sell it in the form of any product is not allowed without a license according to 2013 Minnesota Statute Section 340A.301 (1). There are different criteria for obtaining a license depending on the location, area and produce for ethanol distillation. For a small distillation plant, you can find the license form at:
However for a commercial distillery plant, you will find the license form here:
4. Is it legal to distill essential oils and water?
It is not legal to distill essential oils or water without a permit. If one goes against the law and distill essential oils and water, the state officials can seize the still and all the mechanisms attached to it as well as fine him for a sum of $10,000 or put him in jail for 12 months.
Finally, we are not lawyers, this info is for your entertainment only, so be sure to consult a crafty moonshine laws lawyer before spending any monies on your own distillation plant!
“Remember, the distillation of ethyl-alcohols is illegal without a permit per federal moonshine laws and is inherently dangerous because of ethanol’s flammability (never operate a homemade still indoors). For more moonshine laws and other moonshine still permit information, visit: http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/faq.shtml.”
http://www.ttb.gov/spirits/index.shtml – Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, Distilled Spirits
http://www.leg.state.mn.us/ – Minnesota Legislature